Poetry & Words

Corn-Free, Dairy-Free, Wheat & Gluten-Free Ingredient Guide [Whole Foods & Trader Joe’s]

At the request of friends and family, I’ve finally compiled a list of foods which are safe for me to eat. So here it is, a corn-free, dairy-free, wheat/gluten-free ingredient guide. (Click to download the PDF). Everything on this list can be found at either Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods. Let me know if you have any questions!

UPDATE: I’ve edited the PDF to remove Mary’s Gone Crackers, as a representative for the company confirmed that the tamari in the product does indeed contain corn.

image via ericagirlwonder on flickr

Disclaimer: If you have food allergies, remember, this is a list of what’s safe for me.  Everyone’s sensitivity is different, so please don’t blindly assume that everything on this list would automatically be safe for you as well. Use common sense, read labels, and of course, do your research. =)

Click To Vote For Us @ the Top Baby Blogs Directory! The most popular baby blogs

Glucose Tolerance Drink Ingredients, and Alternatives to the Standard Gestational Diabetes Screening

I’ve had the hardest time trying to track down the ingredients of the glucose tolerance drink for gestational diabetes screening! (I have several food allergies, including corn, so I wasn’t just going to blindly drink whatever the lab employee handed to me).

After a few phone calls and some waiting on hold, I finally was able to get the lab headquarters (Quest Diagnostics) to tell me exactly what’s in the glucose tolerance drink. I thought I’d share in case anyone else is looking for the ingredients list.

Orange/Fruit Punch/Lemon Lime flavors:

  • Dextrose from corn
  • Citric Acid from corn
  • Natural Flavoring corn
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Yellow #6
  • Purified Water

Continue reading “Glucose Tolerance Drink Ingredients, and Alternatives to the Standard Gestational Diabetes Screening”

Poetry & Words

Pacific Natural Foods – Food Allergy Product List including a Corn Allergy Guide

If you’re around food at all, you’ve likely heard of the Top 8 allergens…milk, eggs, fish, tree nuts, peanuts, shellfish, soy, and wheat. Notice that corn is nowhere on that list? The FDA doesn’t recognize corn as an allergen (maybe because it’s in everything!) This is frustrating for those of us who are allergic to corn, and poses a particular problem when contacting a company to inquire about the presence (or absence!) of corn in a product.

That’s why it’s so refreshing when a company not only recognizes corn as an allergy risk, but also goes out of their way to list specifically which products are and aren’t corn-free.  Behold, the most recent product list/food allergy guide from Pacific Natural Foods! This list is helpful even if you aren’t battling a corn allergy, as it also addresses yeast, organic soy and other ingredients. Click on the image view the full PDF version.

Pacific Natural Foods Product List - Corn and other Food Allergy Guide - Click to View

Click To Vote For Us @ the Top Baby Blogs Directory! The most popular baby blogs